Management System

Mature management system driving continual improvement

The Baker Hughes HSE Management System (HSE MS) is an enterprise-wide framework that drives continual improvement in our HSE performance and legal compliance in our facilities and operations world-wide.

Our HSE MS comprises 15 elements and operational control procedures that detail the minimum standards for controlling safety and environmental risk in our operations. The MS documents are communicated to all employees.

Our HSE MS aligns with the requirements of ISO 14001, the Environmental Management System standard; OHSAS 18001, the Health and Safety Management System standard; and ISO 9001, the Quality Management System standard.

A number of our facilities obtain external certification of their HSE management system to International Organization of Standardization (ISO) standards. To achieve greater organizational and cost-efficiency, we initiated a three-year program to transition all local HSE certifications to a single enterprise-wide multisite certificate. During 2013, we completed the transition of locations in the U.S., United Kingdom, Norway, Canada, The Netherlands, and Italy. The remaining sites in Latin America and Asia Pacific will transition during 2014.

At year-end 2013, 70 Baker Hughes facilities were certified to ISO 14001. Of these, 22 facilities were also certified to OHSAS 18001. These certifications represent operations in a number of regions and include production and administrative facilities across all product lines.

ISO 14001 Certifications by Region 

OHSAS 18001 Certifications by Region

Additional Resources

Brochures / Overviews